2015 Redlands Konica Minolta Art Prize

With an Archibald prize winner, two artists from the Venice Biennale and previous winners of the Redlands Art Prize, this year’s ‘2015 Redlands Konica Minolta Art Prize’ promises to be a nail-biter in the lead up to the announcement at the National Art School from 26 March until 23 May.

Guest curator Tim Johnson made the selection in line with the Prize’s unique model, which sees the curator select the 21 of Australia’s most respected contemporary and established artists, who in turn each choose one emerging artist to create work for the exhibition. This pairing of established and emerging artists is designed to encourage mentoring relationships between different generations of artists.

The selected artists and their pairings are Mikala Dwyer and Stevie Fieldsend; Dennis Del Favero and Tanya Dyhin; Geoff Kleem and Coen Young; Hany Armanious and Ruth McConchie; Archie Moore and Dale Harding; Bindi Cole Chocka and Jayden Reynolds; Shaun Gladwell and Dean Cross; Fiona Foley and Nasim Nasr; Joshua Yeldham and Tamara Dean; Rod Moss and Linda Joy; Hiromi Tango and Arie Hellendoorn; Jenny Watson and Matthew Sneesby; Maria Fernanda Cardoso and Gary Warner; Helga Groves and Gian Manik; Marion Borgelt  and Jessica Mais Wright; Claire Healy + Sean Cordeiro (an artist duo) and James Nguyen; Raquel Ormella and Emma Beer; Fiona Lowry and Timothy Moore; Lucas Davidson and Kate Beckingham; Sophie Cape and Juz Kitson; Narelle Jubelin and Lucy Bleach.

Mr Johnson commented on his selection process for the established artists: “For the 2015 Redlands Konica Minolta art prize I have invited a diverse range of artists, in order to reflect the wide spectrum of art being made here in Australia. As an artist myself, I feel artists themselves know what they do best and should have the freedom to participate on their own terms.”

“There is so much exciting and original work around today that finding artists has not been difficult. Interestingly, there are some Australian artists receiving international recognition who still have a fairly low profile here that I’ve sought to include. A lot of the most interesting new work being made is aimed directly at its audience and involves artists confronting, questioning and surprising the viewer,” added Mr Johnson.

This strong contingent of contemporary artists have submitted a single recent work to contend for one of the two prizes. The main award for established artists is the ‘Redlands Konica Minolta Art Prize’, valued at $25,000 and sponsored by Konica Minolta for the third consecutive year. The ‘Emerging Artist Prize’ is valued at $10,000 and sponsored for the first time in 2015 by the Glenburn Pastoral Company.

The ‘Redlands Konica Minolta Art Prize’ was established in 1996, however what distinguishes this event is the focus to encourage mentoring relationships between different generations of established and emerging artists. The Prize’s unique model requires each selected artist to nominate one emerging contemporary artist to participate in the exhibition.

Prize winners will be awarded at an opening event at the Gallery, presented on the evening of 24 March 2015, 10.30-11.30am.

National Art School Gallery
26 March to 23 May, 2015

Jenny Watson, Rain, 2014/2015
Matthew Sneesby, Yellow Stripe, 2014

Dennis Del Favero, Eyebright, 2009
Tanya Dyhin, Rebirth, 2015

subscribe@artistprofile.com.au | PH: +612 8227 6486