Incinerator Art Award shortlisted artists announced

The Incinerator Gallery’s annual contemporary art prize will present an exhibition of the works from 36 Australian shortlisted finalists that respond to the award’s call to action of ‘art for social change.’

Kevin Chin, Veils

Inspired by the legacy of architect Walter Burley Griffin and his wife Marion Mahony, the Incinerator Art Award has a strong focus on environmentalism and social activism, and looks to reinforce the idea that art can create deep and long lasting social change.

The Incinerator Art Award presents a selection of works from all mediums including sculpture, video, photography and painting including works from Deborah Kelly, Gabrielle de Vietri, Elvis Richardson & Virginia Fraser and Peter Bourke .

The award will be judged by Dr Vincent Alessi, Senior Lecturer of Creative Arts at La Trobe University, Hannah Mathews, Senior Curator at Monash University Museum of Art and Jason Smith, Director at Geelong Gallery.

Prize recipients of the $10,000 Boathouse Award, the $3,000 Incinerator Gallery Award and $1,000 People’s Choice Award will be announced at the exhibition’s opening night on Friday, 14 October.

Shortlisted artists:
Lachlan Anthony, Zanny Begg, Peter Burke, Peter Cheng & Molly Biddle, Kevin Chin, Catherine Clover, Perran Costi, Adam Cusack, Gabrielle de Vietri, Julia deVille, Lauren Dunn, Kailum Graves, Matthew Greaves, Paul Handley, Deanna Hitti, Dominic Kavanagh, Deborah Kelly, Bridget Kennedy, Laresa Kosloff, Kristian Laemmle-Ruff, Ashlee Laing, Ben Landau, Sonia Leber & David Chesworth, Jorge Mansilla, Elyss McCleary, Sarah McEwan, Shane McGrath, Kent Morris, Salar Niknafs, Lani Seligman, Nola Taylor, Frank Veldze, Elvis Richardson & Virginia Fraser, Louisa Wang, Dianna Wells and Bethany Wheeler.

The first prize recipient of the $10,000 Boathouse Award will be announced at the exhibition opening on Friday 14 October, 6-8pm


Kevin Chin, Veils (detail), 2016, oil on linen, 137 x 97cm

HELP DESK: | PH: +612 8227 6486