Nathan Beard wins Darebin Art Prize 2024

Bundoora Homestead Art Centre has announced Nathan Beard as the winner of the Darebin Art Prize 2024 for his sculpture Tropical Flesh (ii), 2023. Beard will receive a cash prize of $10,000, and his artwork will be acquired into the Darebin Art Collection.

Nathan Beard, Tropical Flesh (ii), 2023, painted silicone, steel.

Dr Shelley McSpedden (Senior Curator at Australian Centre for Contemporary Art), Dr Moorina Bonini (artist and proud Yorta Yorta, Wurundjeri and Wiradjuri woman) and Sarah Werkmeister (Curator at Bundoora Homestead Art Centre) formed this year’s judging panel.

The judges said of the sculpture Tropical Flesh (ii):

“Nathan’s work is intriguing in that it talks to a variety of themes. It’s a meditation on diaspora, it connects food with culture, and talks to his familial heritage. It talks about mortality while being playful. Part of a larger body of work, the sculpture also posits that cultures are always part of a wider global network. As an early-to-mid-career artist, we are happy to see the work being acquired into the Darebin Art Collection and celebrate Nathan’s achievement in his practice so far.”

The Darebin Art Prize is a national acquisitive art prize celebrating excellence in contemporary visual art. An exhibition of 2024 finalists’ works, including Beard’s winning sculpture, is available to view at Bundoora Homestead Art Centre, Melbourne, until 23 March 2024.

Finalists include: Elyas Alavi, Alvaro Alvarez, Helvi Apted, Diana Baker Smith, Nathan Beard, Claire Bridge, Sarah Byrne, Courtney Coombs, David Creed, Adam John Cullen, Gabriella D’Costa, Ara Dolatian, David Egan, Travis Ficarra, Amala Groom, Stephanie Hicks, Miles Howard-Wilks, Kait James, Daniel Jenatsch, Kris Kang, Deborah Kelly, Shivanjani Lal, Sonia Leber & David Chesworth, Rafaella McDonald, Aylsa McHugh, Louise Meuwissen, Ian Munday, Freya Pitt, Kenny Pittock, Elvis Richardson, Lauren Simmonds, Hannah Smith, Margaret Smith, Tina Stefanou, Dell Stewart, Lahni Thavarajah, Xana Thorsson, Kate Tucker, Oksana Waterfall, Bettina Willner & Jude Worters.

HELP DESK: | PH: +612 8227 6486