2019 Lloyd Rees Art Prize | Finalists announced

The 2019 Lloyd Rees Art Prize finalists were announced today, chosen by judge Dr David Hansen, Associate Professor of Art History and Art Theory, Australian National University, Canberra.

This is a biannual, acquisitive prize that recognises the artist’s legacy and contribution to Australian Landscape painting, awarding $20,000 to the best painting to demonstrate light in the landscape.

2017 Lloyd Rees Art Prize Winner – Philip Wolfhagen, Transitory Light, 2017, oil and beeswax on linen, 57 x 46cm

Congratulations; Raymond Arnold, Ruth Bosveld, Robert Brown, Julia Castiglioni Bradshaw, Jason Cordero, Pam Clarke, Corinne Costello, Jane Flowers, Jane Giblin, Robert Giudici, Christina Kervliet Goddard, Paul Gundry, Miles Howard-Wilks, Eloise Kirk, Stephen Lees, Donna Lougher, Felicity Lovett, Anne Mestitz, Milan Milojevic, Ian Parry, Anna Sabadini, Bruce Thurrowgood and Alan Young.

An Awards Night takes place at the opening of the finalists’ exhibition at Hobart’s Colville Gallery on Friday 5 July at 5.30pm, where the winners for the following categories will be announced: 2019 Lloyd Rees Art Prize, 2019 Max Angus Watercolour Award Sponsored by Artery, and 2019 Salamanca Arts Centre Studio Residency Award. The 2019 People’s Choice Award sponsored by State Cinema, will be awarded on Wednesday 17 July at the conclusion of voting, and at the end of the exhibition.