2020 Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize finalists announced


Congratulations to the 56 emerging and established artists from Australia, New Zealand, United Kingdom and Italy selected from a record 844 entries as finalists for the 2020 Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize, presented by Woollahra Council and judged by Director Curatorial and Digital, Museum of Contemporary Art Australia Dr Lara Strongman, Art Historian/Curator and Industrial Archaeologist Joanna Capon OAM and artist and fashion designer Jenny Kee AO.

The 2020 finalist works – each measuring up to 80cm in any dimension, will be presented for the first time in the Woollahra Council’s new purpose-built gallery space, Woollahra Gallery at Redleaf, as its inaugural exhibition opening in early 2021.

To mark the Award’s 20th anniversary, there will be an increased total prize pool of $29,000 across four categories. The Prize categories are the main Acquisitive Award of $25,000; a Special Commendation award of $2,000; the Viewers’ Choice award of $1,000; and the Mayors Award of $1,000.

Several finalists’ works respond to the current political and social climate, explore and celebrate our relationship with the natural world, explore issues around identity and self-discovery, and test the boundaries of a wide range medium.

Strongman said: ‘This year’s selection of small sculptures represents a snapshot of the great diversity of art practice in Australia today. From glorious kitsch to conceptual rigour, by way of politics and humour, the Award is a showcase for the creativity of Australian artists—both established and emerging.’

Kee added: ‘I loved the creativity, quality and amazing diversity!’

Jacquie Blight, Breathe. Courtesy the artist and Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize

The 20th anniversary Woollahra Sculpture Prize finalist artists are: Christine Appleby (ACT), Tamara Baillie (SA), Jacqueline Blight (VIC), Mechelle Bounpraseuth (NSW), Lauren Brincat (NSW), Clare Britton (NSW), Lisa Carrett (NSW), Emma Coulter (VIC), Kate Coyne (NSW), Carol Lehrer Crawford (NSW), Beth Croce (VIC), Anne Delaney (NSW), Jan Downes (NSW), Ann Ferguson (VIC), Jason Fitzgerald (QLD), Natalie Guy (NZ), Michael Harrell (NSW), Sam Harrison (CAN), Shaun Hayes (ACT), Jenny Herbert-Smith (NSW), Sue Hoare (VIC), Kate Howard (VIC), Cara Johnson (VIC), Jules Jones (NSW), Lisa Jones (NSW), Maria Teresa Kuczynska (NSW), Jo Lane (VIC), Barbara Licha (NSW), Keith MacDonald (VIC), Samantha Mackie (NSW), Stuart McLachlan (NSW), Lilach Mileikowski (VIC), Ray Monde (NSW), Josh Muir (VIC), Elena Murgia (NSW), Mika Nakamura-Mather (QLD), Christina Newberry (NSW), Philip Noakes (WA), Denese Oates (NSW), Amanda Page (VIC), Seungwan Park (ITL), Michelle Perrett (NSW), Sandra Pitkin (NSW), Rodney Pople (NSW), Lisa Porter (UK), Caroline Rothwell (NSW), Rhonda Sharpe (NT), Patricia Smart (NSW), Scotty So (VIC), Crystal St Clair Gilmore (NSW), Jess Taylor (SA), Jane Theau (NSW), Diane Thompson (VIC), Debbey Watson (NSW), David Wood (NSW), and Caroline Wright (NSW).