Bayside Acquisitive Art Prize finalists announced

The 32 finalists for this year’s $19,000 Bayside Acquisitive Art Prize (BAAP) have been announced, selected from more than 650 entries from across Australia.

Joanna Bosse, Curator at the Gallery at Bayside Arts and Cultural Centre said the diversity and calibre of artists submitting works reflected the growing reputation of the Prize and exhibition; ‘In a fairly competitive art domain, prizes like the BAAP provide an opportunity for younger and less recognised artists to be exhibited alongside artists with strong reputations built over many years.’

‘This creates a vibrant and engaging exhibition, full of new and exciting energy. It’s an opportunity to view a snapshot of contemporary painting across the breadth of the field,’ Bosse continues.

Installation view, BAAP 2016

The 2018 finalists are: Sam Cranstoun, Tony Curran, Patrick Dagg, Nick Devlin, James Dodd, Troy Emery, Julia Gorman, Alizon Gray, Louise Gresswell, Christine Healy, Sophia Hewson, Justin Hinder, Fassih Keiso, Robyn Kinsela, Annika Koops, John Krzywokulski, Ngaio Lenz, Jordan Marani, Sam Martin, Georgie Mattingley, Rob McHaffie, Moya McKenna, Fiona McMonagle, Valmayi Nampitjinpa, David Neale, David Palliser, Jahnne Pasco-White, David Ralph, Ebony Truscott, Kate Tucker, Darren Wardle, and Michelle Zuccolo.

Installation view, BAAP 2016

This year the judging panel comprises Charlotte Day, Director, Monash University Museum of Art, and Annika Kristensen, Senior Curator, Australian Centre for Contemporary Art, who will join Nicole Salvo, Assistant Curator, the Gallery at Bayside Arts and Cultural Centre.

Now in its fourth year, the BAAP is an initiative of Bayside City Council, with the winning work acquired for the Bayside City Council Art and Heritage Collection. First Prize is $15,000 with a Local Art Prize of $3,000 for an artwork or artist with a Bayside connection and visitors can also cast their vote for the $1,000 People’s Choice Award.

The 2018 Bayside Acquisitive Art Prize Exhibition is held at The Gallery at the Bayside Arts and Cultural Centre, Melbourne, from 18 May to 8 July. The announcment of the winner will be announced at a special opening event on Thursday 17 May, 6-8pm – all welcome.