Belinda Street wins the 2019 Paddington Art Prize

Congratulations Belinda Street, winner of the Paddington Art Prize 2019, a $30,000 annual, national acquisitive award for a painting inspired by the Australian landscape– a significant contemporary genre with a long tradition in Australian painting and a key contributor to our national ethos, sponsored by Marlene Antico OAM.

The winning work, titled Yellow Box Gully, evolved from a residency at ‘Yellow Box’ Turondale, a bush property located on the Turon River between Sofala and Hill End. The residency highlighted the importance of connectedness with both the landscape and other artists, enabling a freedom to express the truth of place.

Belinda Street, Yellow Box Gully, oil on canvas, 100 x 150cm

This year’s judging panel included: Denise Mimmocchi, Senior Curator, Australian Art, Art Gallery of New South Wales; Dr Oliver Watts, Head Curator, Artbank; and Margaret Ellis, Governor, Art Gallery of New South Wales.

Additional winners include:

Honourable Mention Prize $3,000 sponsored by Chris Antico – Joe Blundell, Renewal, Corhanwarrabul
Highly Commended Prize $1,000 sponsored by Chris AnticoBronte Leighton-Dore, The Shadows run both both ways, Berambing, NSW
Defiance Gallery Prize – Willemina Villari, Early Morning at Ross River
Defiance Gallery Prize – Eunice Napanangka Jack, Kuruyultu
UNSW Art and Design Print Prize – Blak Douglas, A word is enough for the wise
Sofala Cottage Prize sponsored by Louisa Antico – Joe Frost, Railway Garden

A finalists’ exhibition will be held at Menzies Art Brands, 12 Todman Avenue, Kensington NSW, until 27 October 2019. An artist talk with Joe Frost and Marlene Antico OAM will be held on Saturday 26 October at 11am.

The 2019 finalists are: Sally Anderson, Susan Baird, Joe Blundell, Amber Boardman, Kathryn Brimblecombe-Fox, Catherine Cassidy, Kevin Chin, Nick Collerson, Astrid Dahl, Elaine Diamond, Fernando do Campo, Karl de Waal, Blak Douglas, Stefan Dunlop, Rachel Ellis, Robert Ewing, Joe Frost, Mim Fluhrer, Elizabeth Gair Palmer, Paul Haggith, Kate Hansen, Chris Humphries, Paula Jenkins, Maree Kelly, Chris Kenyon, Martin King, Dan Kyle, James WP Lai, Steve Lopes, Bronte Leighton-Dore, Robert Malherbe, Tony Manning, Laura Matthews, Niah Mcleod, Eunice Napanangka Jack, Rodney Pople, James Powditch, Jennifer Riddle, Brad Robson, Paul Ryan, William Simson, Tony Sowersby, Sally Stokes, Belinda Street, Neil Taylor, Willemina Villari, Craig Waddell, Miho Watanabe, Stuart Watters, Stephen Williams, Joanna Wolthuizen, Alan Young, and Zuza Zochowski.