Sculpture at Scenic World 2020 artists announced

Thirty artists have been selected to exhibit at Sculpture at Scenic World 2020 from 9 April to 10 May 2020, rising above a competitive field to showcase their talents in Australia’s most iconic outdoor rainforest exhibition.

The final selection included works from three international artists, seven artists from interstate and nine artists from the Blue Mountains; chosen by a judging panel comprised of the National Art School’s Head of Sculpture, Hany Armanious; renowned Sydney-based sculptor, Margarita Samspon; and Artistic Director of The Lock-Up, Courtney Novak.

Louis Pratt, Regret, 2019, coal, steel, resin, 182 x 36 x 26cm

Set adjacent to the World Heritage-listed Blue Mountains National Park, Sculpture at Scenic World is renowned for its stunning outdoor setting and exceptional calibre of works, which centre around themes of environment and sustainability.

All exhibiting artists will go in the running for the coveted $20,000 Scenic World Major Award, in addition to the $5,000 Environment Award, $3,000 Artist Peer Award, the $2,000 Scenic World Staff’s Choice and the $1,000 Carrington Hotel People’s Choice.

One artwork will also be selected by Paul Brinkman and Sabrina Roesner for the Blue Mountains Cultural Centre Exhibition Opportunity, an additional prize which includes being a feature exhibit at the Cultural Centre in Katoomba.

Sculpture at Scenic World Exhibition Curator Justin Morrissey congratulated all the shortlisted artists for presenting artistic visions that push the boundaries of their creative practice.

‘Sculpture at Scenic World’s unique position on a World Heritage Site continues to be a major drawcard for artists who are willing to test their limits among the ancient rainforest setting,’ he said. ‘It is a privilege to oversee this exhibition’s evolution as it celebrates its ninth year in 2020, and we look forward to seeing a high calibre of works take shape among the natural environment.’

Noah Birch, dissonance field, 2018, mirror, dimensions variable

The 2020 selected finalists are: Nicole Barakat (NSW), Noah Birch (WA), Damian Castaldi & Solange Kershaw (Blue Mountains), Thomas C. Chung (NSW), Torin Francis (Qld), Paul Greedy (NSW), Mari Hirata (Qld), Angela Jursevics (NSW), Ben Laycock (Vic), Simone Leonelli & Michela Paolucci (NSW), Leon Lester (NSW), Peter Lundberg (USA), Camie Lyons (NSW), Paul Murphy (TAS), Kathie Najar (NSW), Luke Power (NSW), Louis Pratt (NSW), Elizabeth Rose (Blue Mountains), Morgan Shimeld (Blue Mountains), Stephen Short (Blue Mountains), Kevina-Jo Smith (Blue Mountains), Rachel Solomon (WA), Hannah Surtees (Blue Mountains), Hiromi Tango (Qld), Rhiannon West (NSW), Kayo Yokoyama (Blue Mountains), Kayo Yokoyama & Henryk Topolnicki (Blue Mountains), Katherine Yurk (NSW), Egor and Nikita Zigura (Ukraine), and Nikita Zigura (Ukraine).