Tim Burns wins the 2019 Perth Royal Art Prize

Tim Burns of York, Western Australia was awarded the 2019 Perth Royal Art Prize for his painting, Sacred rocks Gwambygine ​(2019).

Burns took away the $20,000 first prize and the prestigious title of the 2019 Perth Royal Art Prize for Landscape at the official opening at Claremont showgrounds on the evening of Monday 24 September. Burns, an internationally renowned artist, commented, ‘I am thrilled, this was not expected and it is outrageous good news for me.’

Tim Burns, Sacred rocks Gwambygine, 201,9 acrylic on canvas. Courtesy the artist and Art Collective WA

This year the judging panel included Adam Derums (WA artist; and Visual Arts Teacher, Guildford Grammar School), and Dr Sally Quin (Curator, The University of Western Australia Art Collection). ​

Sandra Murray, Art Curator for the Royal Agricultural Society and Perth Royal Art Prize Judge noted, ‘The winning artwork is a highly accomplished, mature painting in which the landscape is imbued with a powerful presence. Overall the diverse collection of responses to the landscape, both built and natural, makes this a confident, outstanding array of Western Australian art. The calibre of the Prize has risen again in its third year and it has become a coveted exhibition to be selected for.’ ​

Fifty-two finalists were chosen from 253 entries, with two Highly Commended artworks awarded for their excellence: Doreen Chapman (of Warralong, south-east of Port Hedland) for her acrylic on canvas work Untitled, and Di Cubitt (of Perth) for her oil and gesso painting Frankland riverscape. ​

The Perth Royal Art Prize finalists’ exhibition is open for free public viewing in the Salon Gallery at Perth Royal Show from 24 to 26 September (from 6-8pm). General Show admission prices apply during the 2019 Perth Royal Show from 28 September to 5 October (9am to 8pm).

Doreen Chapman, Untitled, 2019, acrylic on canvas. Courtesy Spinifex Hill Studios

The 2019 Perth Royal Art Prize finalists are: Jacinda Bayne, Philip Berry, Belinda Birchall, Tim Burns, Doreen Chapman, Di Cubitt, Jo Darvall, Stuart Elliott, Caspar Fairhall, Robert Gear, Kay Gibson, Dianne Golding, Yusef Hourani, Susan Hoy, Bec Inwood, Bec Juniper, Kris Keen, Rohin Kickett, Hiroshi Kobayashi, Waldemar Kolbusz, Hee Lee, Sue Leeming, Nicole Leuchter, Suzanne Logue, Camilla Loveridge, Louise Malarvie, Elisa Markes-Young, Susan Marwick, Minaxi May, Matthew McAlpine, Matthew McVeigh, Harvey Mullen, Lesley Munro, Lori Pensini, Denise Pepper, Rusty Peters, Annette Peterson, Ross Potter, Andy Quilty, Elizabeth E Riley, Jennifer Sadler, Winnie Sampi, Ben Sherar, Bruce & Nicole Slatter, Alex Spremberg, Angela Stewart, Sally Stoneman, Jonathan Tarry, Alastair Taylor, Wade Taylor, Sioux Tempestt, and Geoffrey Wake. ​

Di Cubitt, Frankland riverscape, 2019, oil and gesso on board. Courtesy the artist and Stala Contemporary