Winners of the Centre for Contemporary Photography’s (CCP) Salon 2017

The ‘Centre for Contemporary Photography’s (CCP) Salon’ marks 25 years as Australia’s largest open-entry photomedia exhibition and competition. The annual event celebrates the latest developments in the practice around the country, and provides an exciting opportunity to exhibit work in a professional, high-profile context. Supported by 31 national leaders in the photographic industry, ‘CCP Salon’ awards over $20,000 worth of prizes over 30 categories.

Leica and Ilford Excellence in Photomedia Award – Thanh Vuong, In my garden the trees are changing 3, 2017

Presented by Leica and Ilford, ‘CCP Salon’ attracts emerging and established artists working with a diverse range of media and techniques to see their work in dialogue with that of their contemporaries.

Pat Corrigan AM Acquisitive Award – Gail Smith, Selvedge II, 2017

​Judged by artist Hoda Afshar, independent curator Elias Redstone, CCP curator Pippa Milne and CCP gallery manager Linsey Gosper (non-voting chair), the Leica and Ilford Award for Excellence in Photomedia was awarded to Thanh Vuong for In my garden the trees are changing 3 (2017), the Pat Corrigan Acquisitive Award went to Gail Smith for Selvedge III (2017), and the Australian Institute of Professional Photography Best Commercial Work was awrded to Kate McWilliam for The Map That Precedes The Territory (2017). Many others were awarded for excellence in categories such as Best Composition, Best Architectural Work, Best Portrait, Best Film Image, Best Landscape, Excellence in Colour, Most Experimental Image, Best Fashion Work and more.

Australian Institute of Professional Photography Best Commercial Work – Kate McWilliam, The Map That Precedes The Territory, 2017

The ‘CCP Salon 2017’ exhibition is on view at the Centre for Contemporary Photography, Australia’s premier venue for the exhibition of contemporary photo-based arts, until 16 December. Visitors are invited to vote for their favourite image in the Marion Boyce Costume Design People’s Choice Award.