2017 Doug Moran National Portrait Prize Finalists have been announced

The ‘Doug Moran National Portrait Prize’ is Australia’s richest art award offering a generous $150,000 to the winner for a portrait of an Australian sitter known to the artist, which reflects their look and personality. Thirty artists have been selected as the 2017 finalists with each receiving $1,000 and all are now in the running to win this prestigious acquisitive prize for portraiture.

The 2017 finalists are; Jiawei Shen, Stewart MacFarlane, Robert Hannaford, Darren McDonald, Helen Young, Tim Storrier, Samuel Quinteros, Prudence Flint, Janis Lander, David Griggs, McLean Edwards, Lewis Miller, Glenn Loughrey, Anh Do, Sara Bell, Bridgette McNab, Nick Stathopoulos, Graeme Drendel, Dagmar Cyrulla, David Fairbairn, Marie Mansfield, Celeste Chandler, Ignacio Rojas, Peter Wegner, Harley Manifold, Anthony Mazzeri, Kathrin Longhurst, Michael Simms, Vincent Namatjira and Natasha Walsh.

This year’s judges; artist Wendy Sharpe, Art Historian and Art Museum Curator, Daniel Thomas, and the Founding Director of the Moran Arts Foundation, Greta Moran have made their selections from over 200 semi-finalists. More than 1100 entries were received in total for the 2017 call-out.

The ‘2017 Doug Moran National Portrait Prize’ winner will be announced on Wednesday 18 October at Juniper Hall in Paddington followed by the exhibition of finalists’ portraits and the winning work from 19 October to 17 December 2017.

Click here to view all 30 finalists entries.