Arthur Guy Memorial Painting Prize 2017 finalists

The biennial Arthur Guy Memorial Painting Prize provides Bendigo Art Gallery with the opportunity to survey contemporary painting by attracting many high calibre and emerging artists from around Australia, offering them an acquisitive cash prize of $50,000.

Kate Shaw, Meltdown, 2016, acrylic and resin on board

From 291 entries, this year’s selected finalists are Matt Arbuckle, Steven Asquith, Andrew Browne, Kirsty Budge, Robyn Burgess, Deidre But-Husaim, Mitch Cairns, Jon Campbell, Sadie Chandler, Marcel Cousins, Jesse Dayan, Prudence Flint, Martin George, Helga Groves, Stephen Hayley, Pei Pei He, Euan Heng, Rachael Hooper, Kez Hughes, Jennifer Joseph, Guundie Kuchling, Michael Lindeman, Christian Lock, Dane Lovett, Fiona Lowry, Margaret Loy Pula, Karla Marchesi, Robert Owen, Louise Paramor, Anthony Pelchen, Bundit Puangthong, Jordan Richardson, Kate Shaw, Robyn Sweaney, Kate Tucker, David Wadelton and Stephanie Wilson.

Kate Tucker, Relic Reminder Warning

This prestigious prize is widely considered an indication of the very latest trends, developments and themes in contemporary Australian painting. Previous winners include Stieg Persson (2003), Dale Frank (2005), Stephen Bush (2007), Jan Nelson (2009), Tim Johnson (2011), Chris Bond (2012) and Guan Wei (2015).

The shortlisted works will go on display at Bendigo Art Gallery from 17 June to 17 September with the 2017 Arthur Guy Memorial Painting Prize winner announced at the exhibition opening on Friday 16 June.

The 2017 judges include; Mark Feary, Artistic Director Gertrude Street Gallery, Dr David Hansen, Associate Professor, Centre for Art History and Art Theory, ANU School of Art and Design, Hannah Matthews, Senior Curator, Monash University Museum of Art and representatives from Bendigo Art Gallery and the Guy family.

Lowry Fiona, The ellipse of a cry

The Arthur Guy Memorial Painting Prize is now in its 14th year, and was established by Mr Allen Guy C.B.E. (1017-2007) to honour his brother Arthur Guy (1914-1945) whose life was tragically cut short whilst in service in New Guinea.

HELP DESK: | PH: +612 8227 6486