Thirty-two Hadley’s Art Prize finalists announced

The Hadley’s Art Prize seeks to contribute to the Tasmanian and Australian art scene, generating interest in cultural tourism and promoting the work of contemporary Australian landscape artists over the age of eighteen working in two-dimensional media. The winning entry will receive $100,000 and be added to the permanent art collection at Hadley’s Orient Hotel, Hobart.

Margaret Loy Pula, Anayte (Bush Potato). Represented by Mitchell Fine Art, Queensland

This year’s judges include: Clothilde Bullen, Curator of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Exhibitions and Collections at the Museum of Contemporary Art Australia, Sydney; Jane Stewart, Principal Curator of Art at the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery (TMAG); and, leading Australian artist, Michael Zavros.

With 17 women artists and 11 artworks were by Aboriginal or Torres Strait Island artists, the 2018 Hadley’s Art Prize provides a diverse and important perspective of our national landscape. This year’s finalists are:

Gloria, Untitled
Raymond Arnold, Toward Light: Aboriginal Landscape ­ Big Punchbowl
Alec Baker, Ngayuku Ngura (My Country)
Min-Woo Bang, Feeling in highland
David Beaumont, William Buckley Joins the Circus. The Houses Whisper (William Buckley series)
Natasha Bieniek, Biopod #2
Josie Birchall, Treasure Island
Katjarra Butler, Ngamurru
Nola Campbell, All of Patjarr
Jacobus Capone, Wounds 1 & 2
Amelia Carroll, Alpineroad-1
Alex Davern, Outside, cold, nowhere to go
Marieke Dench, The Meeting after Glover (The River Derwent and Hobart Town and Ullswater, early Morning)
Sam Field, Always Was Always Will Be (The Big Prawn in Ballina)
Robert Gear, Outpost 2
Nyarapayi Giles, Warmurrungu
Neil Haddon, The Visit
Craig Handley, The Trappings, late 2017
Tjukupati James, Kunga Kutjara
Daisy Japulija, Billabong Country at Floodwater Time
David Keeling, Where the light falls, Cornelian Bay
Janet Laurence, Shades of the Sacred
Milan Milojevic, Terra Incognita
Leisl Mott, Wait a Moment
Idris Murphy, Black emu evening and hill side, Mutawintji
Eva Nargoodah, Kulawa
Charlotte Phillipus Napurulla, Kalipinya
Sarah Pirrie, Macrotidal Quadrat 01
Betty Kuntiwa Pumani, Antara
Jennifer Riddle, Verdant Garden
Kate Shaw, The Grandmother ­ 1908 The Gorge
Debbie Walker Tremlett, A Darkening Sky Over Suburbia

The Hadley’s Art Prize finalists’ exhibition will be held at Galleries at Hadley’s Orient Hotel, Hobart, from 21 July to 25 August 2018; with the overall winner, as well as the Highly Commended winners, announced at the official exhibition opening on Friday 20 July, and the People’s Choice Award winner announced on Sunday 19 August.