Josephine Ulrick & Win Schubert Photography Award 2018 | Finalists announced

The Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award (JUWSPA) is a touchstone of contemporary photographic practice in Australia, and an exciting platform for established and emerging photographers to showcase their work.

Honey Long & Prue Stent, Salt pool, 2018, archival pigment print. Courtesy the artists and ARC ONE Gallery, Melbourne

The 2018 JUWSPA attracted over 200 entries with judge Cherie McNair, Director & CEO, Australian Centre for Photography shortlisting 45 artworks for this year’s exhibition, a reflection of contemporary practice that examines diverse themes and approaches.

Merilyn Fairsyke, Kakadu National Nuclear Waste Facility, from the ‘Plant Life’ series 2018, pigment print. Courtesy the artist

Tracy Cooper-Lavery, HOTA Gallery Director was once again impressed with the outstanding quality of entries.

‘From playful performative acts to portrayals of social realism, to our vulnerable environment, or urban structures, the 2018 Award submissions are potent with diverse subject matter and photographic techniques.

‘The selected entrants for 2018 showcase the breadth of photographic practice in Australia.

‘The Award is a fulsome experience about the possibilities of contemporary photography and a vital platform for photographers of all levels of experience to showcase their work,’ Tracy said.

Janet Tavener, Violette, 2018, ChromaLuxe on aluminium. Courtesy the artist and MAY SPACE, Sydney

The 2018 finalists are; Abdul Abdullah, Hoda Afshar, Tony Albert, David C Collins & Kieran Smythe-Jackson, Ben Ali Ong, Jessie Boylan, Aletheia Casey, Celeste Cebra, Grayson Cooke, Dean Cross, Amala Groom & Dale Collier, Lucas Davidson, Gerwyn Davies, Tamara Dean, Shoufay Derz, Merilyn Fairskye, John Feely, Jacqueline Felstead, Philip George, Richard Glover, Mike Gray, Alannah Gunter, Paul Handley, Lee Harrop, Sophia Hewson, Ingvar Kenne, Honey Long & Prue Stent, Anne MacDonald, Morganna Magee, Koji Makino, Hayley Millar Baker, Michael Miller, Harry Nankin, Will Nolan, Emma Phillips, Izabela Pluta, Chris Round, Julie Shiels, Jacqui Stockdale, Nathan Stolz, Cyrus Tang, Janet Tavener, Ioulia Terezis, David Wadelton, Kai Wasikowski and Christopher Young.

The overall prize winner will be awarded a $25,000 acquisitive cash prize, while a pool of $25,000 in acquisitions will be awarded to selected finalists. Announcements take place at the exhibition’s opening night held on Friday 19 October.

The work of all 45 finalists will be displayed in The Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award 2018 exhibition at HOTA Gallery from 20 October to 25 November 2018.