Justine Varga wins the 2016 Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award

Gold Coast City Gallery has announced Justine Varga the winner of the 2016 ‘Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award’ for her work Marking Time 2016, a chromogenic, hand printed, cameraless photograph that sits at the edge of forgetfulness.

Varga received $20,000 in prize money with her winning work Marking Time to be acquired by Gold Coast City Gallery. The work will be on display at the Gold Coast gallery from 25 June to 21 August, 2016 along with the works of the 2016 finalists.

Justine Varga, Marking Time

The ‘Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award’ is considered one of the most important annual surveys of contemporary Australian photographic practice, it invites established and emerging photographers to enter alongside one and other, resulting in a diverse range of themes and approaches in photography.

Professor Susan Best, Program Convenor of Fine Art and Art Theory at Griffith University’s Queensland College of Art who judged this years prize says, “The finalists in this year’s award show the remarkable range of visual and technological possibilities in contemporary photography: everything from daguerreotype to digital, as well as tintype, photogram and classic black and white. You really need to see them in the flesh to appreciate this diversity. This exquisite photogram is conceptually and visually abstract and yet at the same time richly suggestive of materiality, touch and texture. Congratulations to all of the finalists and especially to Justine for her winning entry.”

2016 Finalists are: Chris Budgeon, Anna Carey, Danica Chappell, Michael Cook, Michelle Culpitt, Ellen Dahl, Gerwyn Davies, Tamara Dean, Shoufay Derz, Michelle Doherty, Ed Douglas, Odette England, Merilyn Fairskye, Chantal Faust, Tina Fiveash, Alex Frayne, Ursula K. Frederick, Phillip George, Natalie Grono, Joanne Handley, Nina Hanley, Petrina Hicks, Samuel Hodge, Jamie Holcombe, Kelly Hussey-Smith and Alan Hill, Ingvar Kenne, David-Ashley Kerr, Bronek Kozka, Cathy Laudenbach, Anne MacDonald, Koji Makino, Laura Moore, Salar Niknafs, Sean O’Connell, Deborah Paauwe, Polixeni Papapetrou, Sarah Rhodes, Paul Snell, Kurt Sorensen, Jacqui Stockdale, Christian Thompson, Justine Varga, Lydia Wegner, Yiorgo Yiannopoulos, and Anne Zahalka.

Gold Coast City Gallery Director Tracy Cooper-Lavery says, “Once again the Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award considers the best in contemporary photography and represents an extraordinarily diverse range of artworks that push the photographic medium.”


Gold Coast City Gallery
25 June to 21 August, 2016

Justine Varga, Marking Time, 2016, chromogenic hand printed photograph, 122 x 98.5cm
Courtesy of the artist, Hugo Michel Gallery and Gold Coast City Art Gallery