The 2015 Mosman Art Prize Finalists Announced

The 2015 Mosman Art Prize Finalists have been Announced!

The 2015 ‘Mosman Art Prize’ is now in it’s 68th year and is one of Australia’s oldest and most prestigious government funded visual arts prizes. Sponsored by Mosman Municipal Council this acquisitive award for painting runs annually with a major prize of $30,000 and the winning work becoming part of the Mosman Art Collection.

Margaret Olley won the first ‘Mosman Art Prize’ in 1947 with her work ‘New England Landscape’ which was judged by Australian landscape painter Lloyd Rees. Last year’s prize went to artist Michael Muir for his work ‘Past the stack’s, 2014.

The ‘Mosman Art Prize’ is Mosman Art Gallery’s showcase annual exhibition. This year 105 artists have been chosen as finalists for the exhibition by Guest Judge, Michael Rolfe and the Gallery’s Prize Coordinator, Katrina Cashman. Cashman says, “This year’s Mosman Art Prize proves once again that painting is alive and kicking in Australia right now.”

Some of the artists selected as finalists for the 2015 prize are:
Clara Adolphs, Liam Ambrose, Susan Baird, John Bokor, Mostyn Bramley-Moore, Annabel Butler, Tom Carment, Maz Dixon, Anh Do, Bridget Dolan, Ken Done, Fan Dongwang, Ashley Frost, Craig Handley, Kyra Henley, Alan Jones, JUMAADI, Jasper Knight, Ildiko Kovacs, Joanna Logue, Geoff Lonergan, Fleur MacDonald, Robert Malherbe, Deborah Marks, Kevin McKay, Lucy O’Doherty, Peter O’Doherty, Rodney Pople, Matthew Quick, Paul Ryan, Jeannette Siebols, Peter Smets, Robyn Sweaney, Remnim Alexander Tayco, Neil Taylor, Greg Warburton, Mirra Whale and Fiona White.

To see the full list of finalists for 2015 visit

The exhibition opens Saturday 25 July, with the official opening function and announcement of the ‘Mosman Art Prize’ winners on Tuesday 28 July, 6.30pm.

Mosman Art Gallery
25 July to 30 August, 2015

Matthew Quick, Status Update, 2015, oil on Italian linen, 120 x 100cm
2015 ‘Mosman Art Prize’ Finalist