$10,000 Tapestry Design Prize for Architects 2021 winner

Congratulations Ground Under Repair (Australia), winner of the $10,000 Tapestry Design Prize for Architects (TDPA) 2021 for their design titled Time Shouts.

Time Shouts seeks to shift perceptions and values and is a beautiful and provocative entry that exemplifies and expands the agenda of the Tapestry Design Prize for Architects,’ says TDPA 2021 Jury Chair, Professor Cameron Bruhn.

Time Shouts is a banner of hope that could foreground some important conversations about the way we occupy ground through time. As architects we should take the time to understand the story of the continent we are pouring footings into.’

Three high commendations were also awarded to A Paradigm Shift by Abhinay H Satam and Shristi D Rawat (India); Apocalypse by Michael Chapman (Australia) and This Place by Madeleine Gallagher, Julie Lee, Georgina de Beaujeu and Lis de Vries (Australia).

Ground Under Repair (Australia), Time Shouts. Winner, Tapestry Design Prize for Architects 2021

The Tapestry Design Prize for Architects offers entrants an unparalleled opportunity to consider the capacity by which contemporary tapestry can articulate, transform and enrich architectural space. In 2021, architects worldwide responded to three design sites across the award-winning Phoenix Central Park, Sydney, designed by John Wardle Architects and Durbach Block Jaggers.

The fifteen finalists were selected by an expert judging panel comprising of Cameron Bruhn (Chair), Brook Andrew, Diane Jones, Valerie Kirk, Dimmity Walker and John Wardle. One hundred forty-one tapestry designs were received from 23 countries, including; Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bosnia, Canada, Croatia, France, India, Iran, Italy, Lebanon, Mexico, Netherlands, Russia, Serbia, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom and United States of America.

Finalists include:

Abhinay H Satam + Shristi D Rawat (India)
Amaia Sanchez-Velasco + Jorge Valiente Oriol (Australia)
Ana Mircetic-Velickovic (Serbia)
Anthony El Khoury (Lebanon)
Catherine Roden + Stephen Brameld (Australia)
Connected Dots Studio (Sweden)
Ground Under Repair (Australia)
Hamidreza Majnooni, Samaneh Khatamirad + Maryam Khatamirad (Australia + Iran)
Madeleine Gallagher, Julie Lee, Georgina de Beaujeu + Lis de Vries (Australia)
Michael Chapman (Australia)
multiplicity, in conjunction with Zoe Frazzetto (Australia)
Nicholas Bucci (Australia)
Original Field of Architecture + Art Bunker (UK + Australia)
Studio KaaKi (Australia)
Studio WW (Australia)

The TDPA 2021 exhibition of finalists will be held at Australian Tapestry Workshop in Melbourne from 7 September to 19 November 2021.

Voting is now open for the $1,000 People’s Choice Award. Cast your vote online.