2019 Fremantle Arts Centre Print Award Finalists

Now in its 44th year, the ‘Fremantle Arts Centre Print Award’ is a celebration of traditional printmaking techniques and is known for its presentation of boundary-pushing works which look towards the future of the medium. The award presents a vibrant showcase of works by established, emerging and cross-disciplinary artists from across Australia who work in the field of print.

We congratulate the 56 finalists selected from 280 entries by judges Anne Ryan, Curator of Australian Prints and Drawings, Art Gallery of New South Wales, Sydney, Mark Stewart, Academic and Curator, Murdoch University Art Collection and Lee Kinsella, Special Projects Curator, Lawrence Wilson Art Gallery, University of Western Australia.

Garth Henderson, colour series banksia ericifolia/2019, 2019, Giclee print on 210gsm Ivory archival matt paper, 170 x 100cm. Courtesy the artist and Fremantle Arts Centre

The finalists are: Lyn Ashby (VIC), Hayley Bahr (WA), Rebecca Beardmore (NSW), Lorena Blacklock (ACT), Matt Brown (WA), Peter Burgess (NSW), Karen Casey (VIC), Susanna Castleden (WA), Seong Cho (NSW), Antonietta Covino-Beehre (VIC), Carolyn Craig (NSW), Jo Darvall (WA), Raimond de Weerdt (NSW), Josephine Duffy (NSW), Mark Dustin (VIC), Marcia Espinosa (WA), Gina Fenton (NSW), Beth Ferialdi (WA), Eva Fernandez (WA), Angela Ferolla (WA), David Frazer (VIC), Rew Hanks (NSW), Garth Henderson (VIC), Deanna Hitti (VIC), Julie Mia Holmes (NSW), Clare Humphries (VIC), Alana Hunt (WA), Kyoko Imazu (VIC), Deborah Kelly (NSW), Nadia Kliendanze (NSW), Hiroshi Kobayashi (WA), Damon Kowarsky (VIC), Nigel Laxton (WA), Monika Lukowska (WA), Elisa Markes-Young (WA), Lucille Martin (WA), Judith Martinez (NSW), Matthew McAlpine (WA), Dan McCabe (WA), Sarah McConnell (VIC), AHC (Andrew) McDonald (WA), Clyde McGill (WA), Tim Meakins (WA), Eunice Napanangka Jack (NT), Evan Pank (NSW), Jaime Powell (VIC), Trevor Richards (WA), Brian Robinson (WA), Sarah Rodigari (NSW), Annika Romeyn (ACT), Rachel Salmon-Lomas (WA), Gary Shinfield (NSW), Alex Spremberg (WA), Anne Starling (NSW), Andrew Sunley Smith (WA), and Donny Woolagoodja (WA).

Brian Robinson, Bedhan Lag: Land of the Kaiwalagal, 2019, linocut printed in black ink from one block, 100 x 185cm. Courtesy the artist and Fremantle Arts Centre

The winner of the acquisitive first prize will receive $16,000 with the work to become part of the City of Fremantle Art Collection, Western Australia’s largest municipal collection; while an additional $6,000 will be awarded the runner up.

Winners will be announced at the opening event at Fremantle Arts Centre on Thursday 19 September at 6.30pm. The finalists’ exhibition, which will feature a display of prints and artist’s books, will be on view at the gallery from 20 September to 10 November 2019.