2019 Lloyd Rees Art Prize | Winners announced

The Lloyd Rees Art Prize is a biannual, acquisitive prize recognises the artist’s legacy and contribution to Australian Landscape painting, awarding $20,000 to the best painting to demonstrate light in the landscape.

Dr David Hansen, Associate Professor of Art History and Art Theory, Australian National University, Canberra, had the honour of judging this year’s prize, and Anne Mestitz as the overall winner for her work entitled 15830 feet above Great Lake.

Anne Mestitz, 15830 feet above Great Lake, oil on board, 100 x 100cm (board). Courtesy the artist and Colville Gallery

Additional categories and their winners include:

2019 Max Angus Watercolour Award Sponsored by Artery – Christina Kervliet Goddard
2019 Salamanca Arts Centre Studio Residency Award – Jane Flowers

The 2019 People’s Choice Award sponsored by State Cinema, will be awarded on the 17 July at the conclusion of voting at the end of the finalists’ exhibition at Colville Gallery, Hobart.

This year’s finalists include: Raymond Arnold, Ruth Bosveld, Robert Brown, Julia Castiglioni Bradshaw, Jason Cordero, Pam Clarke, Corinne Costello, Jane Flowers, Jane Giblin, Robert Giudici, Christina Kervliet Goddard, Paul Gundry, Miles Howard-Wilks, Eloise Kirk, Stephen Lees, Donna Lougher, Felicity Lovett, Anne Mestitz, Milan Milojevic, Ian Parry, Anna Sabadini, Bruce Thurrowgood and Alan Young.