Tom Malone Prize | Contemporary Australian glass artists

Now in its 16th year, the ‘Tom Malone Prize’, a highly respected national event for contemporary Australian glass artists, culminates in an exhibition at the Art Gallery of Western Australia from 31 March to 28 May, 2018.

An acquisitive prize, each year’s winning entry becomes part of the State Art Collection and the winner is awarded a prize of $15,000. Previous winners include: Marc Leib, Gabriella Bisetto, Nick Mount, Jessica Loughlin, Clare Belfrage, Benjamin Sewell, Kevin Gordon, Charles Butcher, Cobi Cockburn, Deirdre Feeney, Brian Corr, Tom Moore and Mel Douglas.

Judi Elliott, Ceremonial vessel, 2016, kiln-formed glass with glass footring by Benjamin Edols, 7 x 59cm diameter. Photograph: Rob Little. Courtesy and © the artist

‘Glass is one of the most exciting and dynamic art forms in this country, with our glass artists also making big impact on the world scene’, states Robert Cook, AGWA Curator of Contemporary Design and International Art; ‘It is a uniquely captivating medium, capable of almost endless transformation, and is a perfect vehicle for the exploration of a range of themes, from the personal to the observational.’

This year’s 13 short-listed artists are Joanna Bone (QLD), Benjamin Edols and Kathy Elliott (NSW), Judi Elliott (ACT), Holly Grace (VIC), Gerry King (SA), Peter Kovacsy (WA), Marc Leib (WA), Jeremy Lepisto (ACT), Tom Moore (SA), Nick Mount (SA), Jason Sims (SA), Blanche Tilden (VIC) and Kayo Yokoyama (NSW).

Joanna Bone, Urchins, 2017, blown glass, Swedish overlay (purple urchin) and cane roll-up technique, cold-worked on lathe and engraver then sandblasted green urchin, 7.5 x 10 x 10cm; purple urchin, 9 x 11 x 11cm; red urchin, 11 x 13 x 13cm. Photograph: Aaron Micallef. Courtesy and © the artist

AGWA Director, Stefano Carboni said, ‘Through the shortlisting process, we keep abreast of the developments in the field, and I am always impressed by the ongoing creativity and commitment and the technical prowess I see among Australian glass artists. This year is no exception: the finalist works promise to be simply extraordinary.

The 2018 winner will be announced on Wednesday 4 April, 2018