Winners of the new McClelland National Small Sculpture Awards

Longstanding exhibitors of large-scale, public sculptures, the McClelland Sculpture Park+Gallery has instituted a new national “small sculpture” award as a way of supporting and encouraging artists in troubled times.

The annual, non-acquisitive McClelland National Small Sculpture Awards 2020 is for domestic scale works, no more than 50cm at the largest dimension. This year, 44 finalists selected from 320 submissions from local and interstate artists, represent artists at all stages of their careers and reflect a strong diversity of approaches to contemporary sculpture.

The four inaugural winners of the McClelland National Small Sculpture Awards 2020, selected by judges Lisa Roet – artist and McClelland Trustee; John Young AM, artist and McClelland Trustee; and Jason Smith, Director, Geelong Gallery, are James Geurts, Matt Hinkley, Kerrie Poliness, and Cyrus Tang. Each will receive $3,000.

‘We believe collectors are increasingly interested in including three-dimensional artwork in their collections, and we are pleased to offer the works of all 44 finalists for sale via a digital catalogue on the McClelland Sculpture Park+Gallery website,’ said McClelland Sculpture Park+Gallery Director, Lisa Byrne.

All proceeds will go to the artists; finalists who are listed below:

Fiona Abicare, Daniel Agdag, Claire Bridge, Robert Bridgewater, Eugene Carchesio, Aaron Carter, Kris Coad, Ewen Coates, Narinda Cook, Augustine Dall’Ava, Emma Davies, Michael Doolan, Brodie Ellis, Danny Fotopoulos, James Geurts, Matt Hinkley, Odette Ireland, Freya Jobbins, Yvonne Kendall, Madeline Kidd, Alicia King, Michael Le Grand, Lucas Maddock, John Meade, Sanné Mestrom, Clare Milledge, Clive Murray-White, Nell, Louise Paramor, Sassy Park, Mary Lou Pavlovic, Kenny Pittock, Kerrie Poliness, Steven Rendall, Juan David Rodriguez Sandoval, Paul Selwood, Ema Shin, Matthew Sleeth, Vipoo Srivilasa, Kylie Stillman, Cyrus Tang, Ronnie van Hout, Jan van Schaik, and Narelle White.