2018 Paul Guest Prize for Drawing | Finalists announced

Fifty works have made the final round in this year’s ‘Paul Guest Prize for Drawing’, selected by judge Roger Butler, eminent National Gallery of Australia curator, from a pool of over 350 entrants.

The Paul Guest Prize is a biennial event highlighting contemporary drawing practice in Australia. Initiated in 2010 by former Family Court Judge and arts patron, the Honourable Paul Guest QC, the prize encourages artists from across Australia to engage with the important medium of drawing and to create challenging and unique art works.

2016 Paul Guest Prize for Drawing winner – Peter Grziwotz, Study as St Jerome for a self-portrait, 2016, charcoal on paper. Courtesy the artist.

‘We are thrilled to see such a rich and diverse range of works from across the country come in for this year’s Paul Guest Prize,’ said Karen Quinlan, Director of Bendigo Art Gallery. ‘Interest in the prize continues to grow, and this year we’ve had a record number of entrants – over 150 more than our previous prize in 2016. It is wonderful to be able to reflect that increase by including more finalists in the exhibition.’

The winner of the ‘2018 Paul Guest Prize for Drawing’, will be announced by Butler at the exhibition opening at Bendigo Art Gallery on Friday 29 June. the winner will receive a non-acquisitive cash prize of $15,000 (increased from $12,000).

The 2018 finalists include: Badra Aji, Kim Anderson, Oliver Ashworth-Martin, Carole Bann, Martin Bell, Natasha Ber, James Bonnici, Fran Callen, Carolyn Craig, Greg Creek, Adam Cusack, Dagmar Cyrulla, Graeme Drendel, Chonggang Du, Philip Faulks, Todd Fuller, Piero Clemente Garreffa, Helen Goninon, Peter Grziwotz, Pei Pei He, Bevan Honey, Amber-Rose Hulme, Alun Rhys Jones, Paul Kalemba, Martin King, Barbie Kjar, Deborah Klein, Guundie Kuchling, Max Linegar, Alanna Lorenzon, Jennifer Marshall, Terry Matassoni, Laith Mcgregor, Linda Mclean, Mali Moir, Nick Mourtzakis, Reena Naidu, Khue Nguyen, Ian Paradine, Anna Louise Richardson, Kaye Shumack, Andrew Southall, Wensi Sun, Ross Taylor, Jason Waterhouse, Paul White, Guy James Whitworth, Helen Wright, Tiger Yaltangki and Jodie Zutt.


subscribe@artistprofile.com.au | PH: +612 8227 6486