The Hadley’s Art Prize 2022 finalists

Straight off the press: Australia’s richest landscape prize, The Hadley’s Art Prize, has today announced the thirty-five finalists who will participate in the 2022 edition of the annual acquisitive prize.

The Prize is awarded to the artwork deemed to be the best portrayal of the Australian landscape, with the winning artist being awarded $100,000. The 2022 judging panel consists of Australian Waanyi artist Judy Watson, Dr Mary Knights, Senior Curator of Art at the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, and Wayne Tunnicliffe, Head Curator of Australian Art at the Art Gallery of New South Wales.

Adrian Robertson Jangala, Yalpirakinu, acrylic on canvas, 31 x 122cm

The thirty-five selected finalists comprise more than 70% women artists and thirteen Indigenous artists, with artists hailing from every state in Australia. Four early-career artists have been selected – including the first Palawa (Tasmanian Aboriginal) artist – alongside some of Australia’s leading established artists, Alec Baker, Pat Brassington, Ken Done, Paul Miller, Mary Tonkin, Bugai Whyoulter, and Michelle Woody.

The selected works span a range of mediums from oil and acrylic, screen prints and pigment prints, charcoal and pencil, to egg tempera and locally sourced ochres. Watson shares: “The works showed a diversity of viewpoints, materiality, and attention to detail across a wide range of subject matter. There was an interesting mix of artists from different backgrounds and different places in Australia.”

Catherine Woo, A Moment in the Day, mixed media on aluminium, 120 x 120cm

As well as the Major Prize, there is also a Residency Prize valued at $10,000, a Packing Room Prize valued at $1000, a $2500 People’s Choice Award, and $1500 worth of prizes for school students.

The finalists; exhibition will take place from 23 July to 21 August 2022, with the winner announced at the opening on Friday 22 July, at Hadley’s Orient Hotel, Hobart. Artworks are for sale.

Congratulations to The Hadley’s Art Prize 2022 finalists:
Alec Baker (SA), Lorraine Biggs (TAS), Camelia Blitner (NSW), Max Bowden (NT), Harrison Bowe (TAS), Pat Brassington (TAS), Wayne Brookes (TAS), Jane Burton (VIC), Katjarra Butler (NT), Faridah Cameron (TAS), Belinda Casey (TAS), Ken Done (NSW), Tuppy Ngintja Goodwin (SA), Alice Guinness (WA), Neil Haddon (TAS), Michelle Holmes (NT), Mylene Holroyd (QLD), Kate Lewis (VIC), Sue Lovegrove (TAS), Jennifer Marshall (TAS), Helen McCarthy Tyalmuty (NSW), Paul Miller (NSW), Milan Milojevic (TAS), Anne Morrison (TAS), Martin Rek (TAS), Adrian Jangala Robertson (NT), Amanda Seacombe (SA), Melissa Smith (TAS), Umatji Tanya Tjapalyi (SA), Mary Tonkin (VIC), Alex Wanders (TAS), Nat Ward (NSW), Bugai Whyoulter (WA), Catherine Woo (TAS), and Michelle Pulatuwayu Minnapinni Woody (NT).

HELP DESK: | PH: +612 8227 6486