2019 Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize finalists

The Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize, presented by Woollahra Council, has announced 43 emerging and established artists from Australia, New Zealand and the United Kingdom as this year’s finalists.

The innovative submissions – each for a freestanding sculpture of up to 80cm in any dimension – were selected from 634 entries by a judging panel comprised of Professor Ross Harley, Dean of the Faculty of Art & Design and UNSW Chair of Arts and Culture, Louise Herron AM, Chief Executive Officer, Sydney Opera House, and Design and Architecture advocate, broadcaster, author and comedian, Tim Ross.

Mandy- Quadrio, she unfolds, bull kelp, ochre, river reed, 32 x 22 x10cm, 100 grams

Herron said: ‘The 2019 Prize finalists highlight the wide range of concepts and emotions expressed through sculpture, both in Australia and internationally. The judging panel focused on excellence in execution and was moved by the wide range of materials, colours and textures used in the works, including those by Alison MacDonald and Carol Crawford. We are delighted to have included several exceptional pieces by or inspired by First Nations artists, including Tracey Deep and Mandy Quadrio, as well as some masculine works such as Fortitude by Stuart McLachlan.’

Harley commented: ‘It is significant that Woollahra Council continues to support and provide artists with such an incredible platform to develop and share their work. We have been struck by how many of the finalist works respond to the big questions of the day; exploring issues around culture, the natural world and the role of the human in these spaces. While many works deal with heavy issues, we haven’t turned away from the humour in some of the works and the selection ultimately has something for everyone to engage with.’

Veronica Andrus-Blaskievics, Inside-Out, concrete, textiles, 14 x 10 x 5.5cm 1.2kg

The exhibition will be on show from 11 October to 3 November 2019 at Woollahra Council Chambers in Sydney. Prize money this year totals $24,000 across four categories. The Prize categories are the main Acquisitive award of $20,000; a Special Commendation award of $2,000; the Viewers’ Choice award of $1,000; and the Mayors Award of $1,000.

The 2019 Woollahra Sculpture Prize finalists are: Ali McCann (VIC), Alison McDonald (QLD), Ara Dolation (VIC), Benjamin Jay Shand (NSW), Brenda Page (VIC), Carol Cooke (ACT), Carol Lehrer Crawford (NSW), Donna Marcus (QLD), Erica Izard (NSW), Jane McKenzie (NSW), Jane Price (SA), Jeffrey Wood (NSW), Jessica Leitmanis (VIC), Johannes van Nunen (NLD/NSW), Julie Monro-Allison (ACT), Julie Pennington (ACT), Kate Ellis (VIC), Kenny Pittock (VIC), Kieta Jackson (UK), Lisa Giles (NSW), Louis Pratt (NSW), Louiseann King (VIC), Luke Storrier (NSW), Mandy Quadrio (TAS/QLD), Mehwish Iqbal (NSW), Merran Esson (ACT), Natalie Rosin (NSW), Nathan Keogh (NSW), Neil Laredo (NSW), Nicole de Mestre (NSW), NOT (NSW), Oliver Ashworth-Martin (UK/VIC), Patricia Smart (NSW), Paula Dunlop (QLD), Peter Zappa (WA), Stuart Rex Mclachlan (NSW), Tai Snaith (VIC), Tina Fox (NSW),Toni Morrison (NSW), Tracey Deep (NSW), Ulan Murray (NSW), Veronica Andrus-Blaskievics (NSW), and Wanda Gillespie (NZ).

Ross adds: ‘The high standard and huge range of the 634 works submitted has made for a remarkable judging experience and we have been wholeheartedly moved by many of the finalist works. The combination of our different opinions and views has made for what we hope will be a diverse exhibition and we look forward to reviewing and judging the finalists’ small sculptures this October.’